DEV Community

Cover image for Halfway There!
𓆏
𓆏

Posted on

Halfway There!

What do me and Bon Jovi have in common? We're both halfway there. Yes you heard that right: I'm halfway done with the Flatiron School program!

Image description.
As I'm typing this, I'm preparing to present my third project. Phase three was about things like matrices, gradient descent, and classification models, but the project focused on classification models. This project was a little different, because we had more flexibility in working on it. We could choose our own dataset, and could choose what models we wanted to work with.

Image description

There were so many options, but in the end I chose to work with a heart disease dataset. My project was to build a model that would predict if a patient was at risk for heart disease, given various factors. The project challenged me in several different ways (some new, some old), but I stuck through it and feel more accomplished than ever! I won't spoil anything for you, but if you want to check it out, it can be found here: [(https://github.com/aharri123/Heart-disease-classification)]

Image description

In all honesty, there isn't much else to say, so I'll keep this short and sweet, but not before talking about mental health. After all, no blog of mine would be complete without talking about mental health! My mental health has stayed consistently well, and if anything I have had less bad days than ever before. I've been taking my medication and going to therapy as well. I will say that I probably need to go out more and have some fun, but hey it's a work in progress. All in all, I'd say that things are going well, and that I'm relatively happier. I know that not everyone can say the same thing, but to those who are struggling: I promise you, it does get better, and I'm so proud of you for continuing to try.

Top comments (0)