DEV Community

Arnold Chand
Arnold Chand

Posted on

CamelCase, kebab-case or snake_case folders?

Which type of casing do you use when naming a folder in your project? CamelCase, kebab-case or snake_case, or all mixed and mashed together πŸ˜‚?

Of course, this would also depend on which programming language you use, or style guide. But what do YOU really feel like would be the best naming case for folder/directories?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
ipreda profile image
Iulian Preda

For Angular kebab-case, in general for me CamelCase is the most appealing.

Collapse
 
micahlt profile image
Micah Lindley

I generally prefer kebab or snake case for folder names, even though for files and variables I always use camel case.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'd go with snake case for folders. For no reason in particular it seems the cleanest.

Collapse
 
devhammed profile image
Hammed Oyedele

PHP & JavaScript - CamelCase

Python & Dart - snake_case

Collapse
 
guilhermelmoraes profile image
Guilherme Leite Moraes • Edited

I use kebab-case for folders and TS/JS files. IMO looks cleaner that way but I don't know if there are any conventions around it, at least for TS/JS.