DEV Community

Cover image for Kotlin, In my regard
daftyw
daftyw

Posted on

Kotlin, In my regard

TLDR; My love/hate relationship with Kotlin.

Well, as you may know I am quite a long term java developer and I think Java is in surprisingly upside right now since it leave the dark age of the -O- company. I always love to explore the new capacity of the language itself, but can't deny that still feel craving to try another languages such as Go, python and, of course YES, Kotlin.

Since it introduce to public officially in one of events from Google (I am not sure which one), Kotlin always caught heart of many Android developer if not all of them.

But in the scope of backend development, I rarely saw any project that using Kotlin.

But now, I am starting with a new project and when one of our team squad leader so encouraging to put Kotlin into our stack I can't help but honestly feel doubted. Anyway, The team didnt reject the offer and we are going with Java, Kotlin and Go as our backend platform stack.

In my knowledge before now, Kotlin is quite like an extension of Java. And since we have so many additional language feature recently (which some project still struggling with Java 8) l, my argument for Kotlin are..

  1. Switching to Kotlin doesn't help improve performance since it still one on JVM like Java and it need additional compilation steps (every time that we build the project, which means we losing our productivities waiting more time)

  2. Java isn't good with design pattern but it never pushing all over on me. But, Kotlin wants you to understand beforehand about writing a good code. Yes, with good intentions to reduce buggy application but it seems like forever before you got into the point that you understand all Kotlin code in 10 seconds when you see any commit from your college ( Yup, It hurts productivities again )

  3. Struggling with 1 tool. Well, IntellJ is no doubt a number one IDE but it isn't free. I am mainly a VSCode user and I can't find any worth to mentioned Kotlin Extension. even for Eclipse IDE, the plugin is abandoned.

Well, after I decided that I (and the team) can accept all arguments above. Give it a shot is not so bad right now.

I think as if you are experienced Kotlin developer. You got a better tools to handle a lot of situations, writing a shorter and cleaner code. Gradle integration is very good and scope function start to catch my heart more and more.

Well that is it for know. This is kind of like a note to myself in the future 😉

Thank you for reading.

Top comments (0)