DEV Community

Cover image for Building a Streamlined Workflow between Google Forms, Google Sheets and Looker Studio
Damilare Abogunrin
Damilare Abogunrin

Posted on

Building a Streamlined Workflow between Google Forms, Google Sheets and Looker Studio

So, I stumbled on this gig recently. The client needed a clear-cut path worked out between the trio of all previously mentioned Google Tools. Considering all tools needed for the task were Google-based, integration was quite easy. There was zero need for connectors like Zapier nor scripting code for API intercoms. Essentially,

Google Forms - Collects Data
Google Sheets - Stores Collected Data
Looker Studio - Enables visualization and analysis of collected data.

Ive explored how those tools were connected to build out the desired workflow.

Getting Started with Google Forms

To get started, I created the following basic Google Form to facilitate data collection. Considering the client didn't specify the datatypes to be collected. I revolved the datatypes around sales. Since the solutions were definitely business oriented, seemed pretty apt to me.

Image description
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSc--Bkg1wP2-uw4pyeqQUNxD6VqHT3oEnUqyJ4T01Q8EfSfmw/viewform
So, when a sales rep fills out sales details in the provided Google form, the response gets stored automatically on the Google sheets.

Streamlining Data Storage with Google Sheets

Google Sheets is where the project gets tricky. Considering I have zero actual sales reps to fill out the data I needed, I resorted to Mockaroo to work up a mock dataset I could work with.

Here's my Mockaroo adjustments:

Image description

Here's the data set neatly outlined in my Google Sheets.

Image description

Unlocking Insights with Looker Studio

Conclusion

Top comments (0)