DEV Community

Dantechdevs
Dantechdevs

Posted on

Binary

How does binary do… everything?
Hello, I have very limited knowledge on computer science (made stuff on processing.is as a kid) and really have only taken a broader interest as I’ve started learning the object based music programming software Max MSP. Used Arduinos a little.

This is probably a dumb question but I was wondering if anyone could explain this or send me in the direction of some resources to read n learn more - how is it that binary is able to create everything in a computer? I understand the whole on/off principle on circuit boards and it makes sense how permutations of 1 and 0 can make more numbers, but how can a series of 1/0 on/off inputs eventually allow things like, if statements, or variables that can change - the sort of building blocks that allow code? How do you move beyond simply indexing numbers? There’s a mental gap for me. Does it have to do more with how computers are built mechanically?

Top comments (0)