DEV Community

Cover image for I created a mobile application to check for diabetic patients in NIgerian states
Oladapo Daniel OLATUBOSUN
Oladapo Daniel OLATUBOSUN

Posted on

I created a mobile application to check for diabetic patients in NIgerian states

Over time I have been claiming to be a developer but I haven't really done anything substantial with my coding prowess.
Last week a classmate of mine came to meet me and was like, "Dapo, you can make mobile applications right?", at first I wanted to say no because I really haven't tried anything from the scratch as I am used to following tutorial videos without tweaking anything but I said yes with a low level of certainty.

Fast forward to Sunday, someone messaged me and informed me that he wanted to build a mobile application for his final year project and it was to get the number of diabetic patients in Nigerian states. I didn't know what to say or do at first but after taking time to think I started coding. Due to the fact that I have not undertaken many projects I thought it would take me so much time but in less than three days I have finally completed the application.

I used google map API. At first I was using "Map Embeded" and it was not giving me what I wanted, I was stuck because I didn't know of other options. I took me a couple of hours to know that there was "Map for android" and "Map for iOS".

Code snippet for placing markers on the google map

_markers.add(
const Marker(
markerId: MarkerId ('id-27'),
infoWindow: InfoWindow(
title: 'Osun',
snippet: 'Number of Diabetic patients = ...'
),
position: LatLng(7.5629, 4.5200)
),
);

My journey into constant coding, facing errors, debugging and publishing mobile applications is officially starting today, 1st December 2021.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
idris_fagbemi_c31c05906e8 profile image
Idris Fagbemi

Hi, were you using API calls

Collapse
 
dapodan profile image
Oladapo Daniel OLATUBOSUN

No I didn't, I created a JSON fine with all the needed details.