DEV Community

Cover image for What you hold after a $9 site purchase, line by line
Dave Kurian
Dave Kurian

Posted on Originally published at otf-kit.dev

What you hold after a $9 site purchase, line by line

When a site template costs under $20, the sticker price is the easy part. The harder question is what you still hold after you pay. On 4 October 2026 we read our own pricing and two other vendors' public pages to answer it for our $9 template. Everything below comes from those sources. Where a source says nothing, we say so instead of guessing.

On the card at $9

Our pricing lists a Landing Template at "$9 / each" and calls it "one premium single-page marketing site". The card lists:

  • A complete marketing site with an animated opening section and five color themes.
  • AI configs for Cursor, Claude and Lovable.
  • Paid use on a single client project.
  • 12 months of free updates.
  • A single developer.

The same page says there are 15 of these templates and that you can "click any live preview before you buy". The pages index now prints a "$9 one-time" tag on each of the 15 cards, next to a live demo link.

The picture below shows two people at a desk with two matching framed colour-band cards: one holds a frame up while the other points at it.

Two people at a desk with two matching framed colour-band cards: a boy in a navy hoodie holds one frame up while a girl with pink glasses points at it.

What you keep

Our pricing says an order "delivers editable source into a repository you control". It describes a build with no backend that serves from Cloudflare Pages or any static file server, on your own domain. In our view, that is the answer to "what do I get for $9": source you can open in your editor, change with an agent, build, and serve from wherever static files go.

Off the card at $9

The same sources are plain about the limits, so read them before paying:

  • A single client project. The card covers a single client project and one developer. For several clients, our pricing says to write to us for a different license.
  • No Figma file. Everything is designed in code, per our pricing.
  • No backend. Accounts, log-in and payments are your job, or a kit's.
  • No refunds. every order ships full source and all sales are final, per our pricing.
  • Updates for 12 months, not for life.
  • Everything around the files. A domain name, a place to serve the build, and your own words and photos are separate costs. Our pricing does not quote them, so check current rates before you call the total under twenty.

Prices at two other vendors

OTF template Shadcnblocks Framer templates
Price $9 each Premium $299 and Elite $399, each one-time (the lower Pro plan lists no templates) Many listed as Free, paid ones from $24 up past $100
What the price covers One single-page marketing site Components and blocks on every plan, plus 20 premium templates from Premium upward Individual templates for Framer
Updates 12 months "Lifetime access & updates" Not stated in what we fetched
Client work A single client project, one developer No cap on end products for yourself, your company and clients, with limits on reselling Not stated in what we fetched
Where the files live Source in a repository you control Access through the site and the shadcn CLI Not stated in what we fetched

Shadcnblocks sells a different thing: a library of components, blocks and templates. Its Premium plan at $299, the cheapest one with templates, adds a Figma kit and an Admin Kit, and Elite adds 71+ pre-built pages and a page builder. It describes the templates as multi-page marketing sites for Next.js and Astro, built with shadcn/ui, where ours are single-page sites. Its license text puts no cap on end products for clients. That is broader than ours, so if you ship many client sites it may suit you better than ours. The Framer category groups templates under headings such as Portfolio, Software, Agency and Ecommerce, with sorting by Trending, Best or Recent, and shows names, authors and prices only. It shows free templates next to paid ones, so $9 is not the lowest number there. We make no claim about what a Framer buyer can take out of Framer, because the category page does not say.

The narrow conclusion: for a single marketing site you want as source with a static build, $9 is low and the limits are written down. For a free start, or for work across many customers, look at the other columns.

The picture below shows two people at a desk with three plain boxes in a row, small, medium and large: one lifts the lid of the small box to show a blank card inside while the other points at the large box.

Two people at a desk with three plain cardboard boxes in a row, small to large: a girl lifts the lid of the small box to show a blank card while a boy points at the large box.

Questions to put to any vendor

This list is our suggested practice, whichever vendor you pick.

  1. Is the price visible next to the product, or only behind a log-in?
  2. Does the vendor say you receive source files, or access to a hosted tool?
  3. Which rules apply to client work, and how many projects do they cover?
  4. How long do updates last, and does the vendor say so in numbers?
  5. Can you look at a live demo first, and is a refund possible afterward?

Our published numbers answer all five in writing. Once you hold the source, our post on re-skinning a template from one config file shows how to change it, and our build order for a landing page with AI covers the sequence.

Past the template: a phone-and-web codebase

A template like this is the front door. If you also want a phone-and-web codebase to start from, the Arcade kit is a live $99 one-time kit on Expo and Hono, with the source on GitHub for you to own and a CLAUDE.md in the repo. It is a games-store app, so it only fits if that shape suits you. The free demo opens before you decide. The SaaS Dashboard and Fitness kits are the other two live options.

FAQ

Is this site template really under $20 for a full site?

Yes. We price it at $9 and describe it as a complete marketing site. Two would come to $18. Landing templates have no backend.

Can I use one for a client?

A template covers a single client project, per our pricing. For several clients, we ask you to write to us for the right license.

Does it come with a Figma file?

No. Our pricing says everything is designed in code, so the design lives in the source.

Where can it run?

Our pricing says it builds to static files that can go on Cloudflare Pages or any static file server, with a custom domain.

Can I get my money back if I do not like it?

No. Our pricing says all sales are final, because full source is delivered at once. Use the free live preview first.

Sources

Top comments (0)