DEV Community

Cover image for Retaining Quick Access to the Local, Native Mac User Guide
David Blue
David Blue

Posted on

Retaining Quick Access to the Local, Native Mac User Guide

This may or may not be new information, but I have a Mac User Tip!!

One of those rare occasions where my very first assumption about Mac system design turned to actually be correct!

Basically, I knew what HelpViewer.app was - as I think every Mac User does, surely, given its distinctly absolute always-on-top behavior by default - but did not know it *by name.

The whole reason I was looking: I was hoping to figure out a means of opening the local Mac User Guide - this machine is not upgradable past Monetery, and both the Apple Book and the online user guide had upgraded. (Frankly, it would be absurd to continue using either considering how much more resource intensive they both are in comparison to HelpViewer.)

Basically, I found the app, itself, in CoreServices:

System/Library/CoreServices/HelpViewer.app

And I literally just copied another version of the app somewhere else and slid it into my dock.

(The assumption I made and was astonished to be correct: opening HelpViewer from anywhere without whatever arguments standard help links are passing just opens it right to the MacOS User Guide I was looking for!)

Top comments (0)