DEV Community

Artem Tanyhin
Artem Tanyhin

Posted on

SSGo 0.4 and git rebase

Hey! Thanks for coming by. Today, I worked on refactoring the code for SSGo a bit, and eventually added a couple features that are making the 0.4 pre-release.

What's in 0.4

This update brings a couple more features for Markdown, as well as config file support:

  • Markdown bold, italics, and link are now converted to respective HTML tags
  • JSON config file support is added

Refactoring and rebase

So, my main goal for today wasn't exactly publishing a new release, initially I simply needed to refactor bits of my code.

What I did is, I split utils module into smaller files for easier maintainability, refactored file type check, name and extension conversion, and markdown inline parsing.

The project now looks much more neat and allows for better maintainability.

For example, I wasn't able to add bold and links to SSGo with my previous approach, but when I switched to using regular expressions, those changes took me around 10 minutes to add.

After I was done, I did git rebase master -i and squashed all commits into one, so the git tree looks much cleaner now.

Top comments (0)