DEV Community

Cover image for Love at First Code
Andreas
Andreas

Posted on

Love at First Code

What was a programming language or framework you fell in love with right after typing the first lines or creating the first project in? And why?

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

For me it was my first project with Vue and Firebase. Vue, because it's easy to use, powerful, well documented, component-driven, simple and performant. Firebase because of its awesome realtime database and easy integration into Vue.

Collapse
 
tkjohnson121 profile image
KJ

+1 for Vue and Firebase. Vue was the first framework for me because, like you said, it's easy to use, powerful, etc. Firebase for the same reasons. Still loving the dev experience to this day with these two.

Collapse
 
anjankant profile image
Anjan Kant

Hello KJ,
If you have good knowledge of Firebase, then can you help me to figure out my issue. I am able to allow/deny notifications, token but at last step not able to push notifications using Web JavaScript app.

Thanks :)

Thread Thread
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Hi Anjan,
can you show your code? (Github, Codepen, ...) Would be easier to help you with your problem.
Btw there are quite a lot of examples for Vue and notifications.

Thread Thread
 
anjankant profile image
Anjan Kant

thanks for sharing vue js example!!! this is my blog TechnologyCrowds.com where residing a lot of stuff of Visual Studio stuff.

Thread Thread
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

sure thing, you're welcome :)

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Yes! Exactly the same for me!

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

I know this one. Rust, i just love it. I did this thing that shows desktop notifications, which is not a big deal (i cheated a little), but just look at it! It doesn't have any if statements!! Almost all paths are handled by functions.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Awesome!

Collapse
 
gvetri profile image
Giuseppe Vetri

Ruby and Kotlin <3. I had to create a site, and all my classmates started using PHP, and I didn't like it, so I searched for alternatives and found ruby ​​on rails. I fall in love, didn't have to use too much the $ sign 😜. Then I became an Android developer and started using Java when I migrated from old Java to Kotlin was like move ten years forward.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Always good to not just do what everyone does 👍🏻
Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

Lisp. It's so simple and elegant, and it has so many parenthesis.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Cool! Never did something with Lisp, but I saw it one or two times. Lisp was the one with these list expressions right? (+ 1 2 3) resulting in 6 ?

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

Yes, that's the one!

Collapse
 
tkjohnson121 profile image
KJ

Mine was Java. First 'real' programming experience after a few years tinkering around with scripts and such. I remember moving some robot around on the screen in high school and ever since then I've been hooked.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

I can imagine! Thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
eaich profile image
Eddie

Visual Basic. Seeing things come to life right before my eyes was satisfying and addicting.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Yes! I can relate to that so much! Seeing the results of your own creation is 🔥!

Collapse
 
anjankant profile image
Anjan Kant

I'm fully addicted of Visual studio languages especially C#

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Cool, thank you for sharing!

Collapse
 
tealeg profile image
Geoffrey J. Teale

Scheme, so simple, so clean, so small.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Programmable programming languages are 🤯! Thank you for sharing!

Collapse
 
mannil profile image
Alexander Lichter

Laravel, Vue and Nuxt.js!

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Awesome combination, thanks for sharing!

Collapse
 
louisefindlay23 profile image
Louise

Flexbox

Collapse
 
schnipdip profile image
schnipdip

Powershell because it made sense and was fun. I could create an entire program in one line, like making a ping command can be done super easily. In any other language it would be 5+ lines of code.

Collapse
 
devmount profile image
Andreas

Cool, thanks for sharing!