DEV Community

Tiago Bernardo
Tiago Bernardo

Posted on

How did you be a programmer? Meet my story and after tell me your! πŸ˜ƒ

Hi, my name is Tiago Bernardo and this is my story about how i got into the programming world! If you liked it, post your story too! It would be a pleasure to get to know your story. πŸ˜€

All started in 2011. I was in the last year of school when MΓ‘rcio, my school friend, invites me to join the course "CISCO IT Essentials". I didn't understand what this name meant, but i knew that i would learn something about computers. I always liked video games and at that time i played many online games on computer. My parents didn't like to see me for hours using the computer, i thought that if i learned something useful, they would not bother me anymore πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

During 60 hours, in some months, i got to know each hardware at computer and its respective functions. In the last days of course, the teacher call me and my friend MΓ‘rcio. He invited us to join in the "Knowledge olympics". The competition started at school, state, country and the last is the world stage in Germany. However, the tests would be on how to solve problems with programming and our course would not teach anything about it. We accept the challenge. We started to learn programming searching on google. At the time the tests were solved with Microsoft Office, the programming language was VBA.

And so all started! I won the first and second stage, but in the third, the national stage, I stayed in tenth and i didn't go to the world stage in germany. However, I learned a lot of interesting things about code. When I arrived at the university, I realized that I was in front of almost all my colleagues. I already knew how to program! πŸ•Ί

The next problem was looking for a first developer job. I was a basic computer teacher, administrative intern while developing my personal projects with VBA. My city is small, it doesn't have here
many companies working with technology. I took a few years before I got the first interview for a developer job. 😟

I sent my resume to a local company once a year for 4 years. The last time I sent it, I was invited for an interview, the recruiter was the CEO himself, I was scared hahaha. He said he would call me, but he didn't. πŸ˜‘

But the day finally came. I found an interview with the government and was approved after demonstrating my personal projects! The recruiter said, "Wow, did you do that?" and I replied "Yes! It was me!" 🀣🀣🀣🀣

After the first job, all made easy. 😎😎😎

Thanks for reading. If you dare, tell your story too and left the link on comments!!

Bye bye πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Top comments (0)