DEV Community

Cover image for My journey to be a Developer
Diego Raffa
Diego Raffa

Posted on

My journey to be a Developer

My name is Diego I'm Italian living in Dublin Ireland.
I was always uncertain about what to do in my life, until around 3 years ago.
I was working in hospitality for long time but I was not happy at all.
I wanted to do something different but didn't know what, so I just did the same job for years.
I tried accounting for a career change but I didn't like it.
I tried coding around 3 years ago, doing a small course at the Dublin Institute of design, where I learned the basic of HTML and CSS and some design skills like Photoshop.
I enjoyed and I did a full year at the same college, where I got an higher certificate in media production.
Honestly I didn't like it because In my opinion we did too much theory and not so much practice.
Especially I was really fed up of the amount of blog articles we had to write, and my schoolmates as well.
At the time I didn't understand that write a blog article, it's important to give you some visibility on the web.
It's an important part of networking that is something crucial for a developer.
After the college I did several online courses, also the Techdegree in Front end by Treehouse that is an online Bootcamp.
I like coding especially the UI/ Fronted part.
I love in particular CSS and animations.
I still have a lot to learn, improving my JavaScript and learn React for example.
I get often discouraged by the amount of skills company requires, even for a junior role.
I was looking for a junior position since September more or less, but I just had some interviews and nothing more.
Anyway this is what I really wanna do, I think create a website It's like painting and related to art.
I also love photography and I have a SDL camera.
If someone wants to have a look to my website
https://www.diegoraffa.com
I would love to hear somebody else options and struggles to become a Developer.
Have a good day to everyone

Top comments (0)