DEV Community

Abdullah Bashir
Abdullah Bashir

Posted on • Updated on

VSCode selection automagically toggles multicursor :(

I was working on a project recently, and I woke up one day to find that my trusty code editor was misbehaving. It took me a while (and a three-commit forced rollback plus two-commit debugging) to find out. It was not a happy experience. Plus, I had to put up with this for almost two months.

It's a wicked one. It creates multiple cursors, messing with a different line when I'm working on another. It literally messes up my code while I'm not looking.

Issue Screenshot 1

Issue Screenshot 2

To save an old friend the trouble of finding the solution to this issue as much as I did and avoid messing with your sweet keybindings, here's how to fix this issue in VSCode.

  1. Open the bloody VSCode.
  2. On the top bar (window bar), click "Selection".
  3. Click (disable) column selection mode.

Fix Screenshot

And that's how I fixed this bloody pain in the ass.

Happy hacking! :)

PS: View the life-saving Github issue comment here

Top comments (0)