DEV Community

dinhanhx
dinhanhx

Posted on

How did I start with Machine Learning?

As of writing (2021), I am last-year ICT Bachelor student of USTH.

2019

When my second year started, I knew nothing about machine learning nor artificial intelligent. I just knew these words existed. During this year, I learned Probability and Statistic, Digital Signal Processing, Image Processing, Numerical Method. My GPA for these subjects are not significant. I admitted that I am not good at math not I am still not. If you tell me to multiply 3 by 3 matrix with 3 by 2 matrix, I will probably do it badly. Fortunately, I'm not so bad at Calculus.

2020

The covid outbreak in Vietnam, I had more time for myself and staying at home. I watched a lot of videos on You Tube about people making AI to do this do that. Code Bullet is one of my favorite channels. There was a professor who was working on forecasting political trends from news. He sent an invitation to my class. I signed up then I told him I didn't know anything about machine learning. He said that was fine then let me join the project. Most of the time, I did not understand any concepts or any terms. He explained what he was trying to do. My job was to label news manually. In order to learn basic concepts, I googled a lot. I found two ways of machine learning. There are top-2-bot and bot-2-top.

  • top-2-bot: you learn what is AI, ML; what are the problems; what are the methods, till you reach math

  • bot-2-top: you learn math, learn programming, learn applying the math into the programming, learn the methods, know the problem

I didn't follow one of them. I followed a way that I felt easy. I was not good at math, knew nothing about ML. As a result, I should choose top-2-bot, right? I was too dumb to run a neural network with instructions. The way is to combine both ways.

To know what is what, I use top-2-bot to learn general idea about machine learning. The blog I read is Start here with Machine Learning. Then I read Machine Learning with Python.

To learn how does it work, I use bot-2-top. You should apply this technique with small algorithms such as linear regression, logistic regression, etc.

To learn how to apply the method, I use top-2-bot because practice make perfect. You may treat a method as black box. You understand the input, the output and the idea of it. You should apply this technique with neural network or probabilistic models. For neural network, I read Deep learning with Python.

2021

From a guy who is bad at math (still) to the guy know to apply Mask RCNN to segment nodule from lung ct scan is a long journey. I feel more confident and am ready to learn more.

Top comments (0)