DEV Community

jkescueta
jkescueta

Posted on

12 Ways that Libraries are Good for the Country

Do you agree / disagree with any of the statements? Why?

Since the article was written from an American perspective not all statements are applicable to Philippine libraries. In particular, "Libraries build technology skills," is inapplicable to some Philippine libraries as public libraries outside of city centers likely do not have the funding to offer access to the internet.

Growing up, have u had any experience using the library? How was it?

During elementary I learned to love reading in the small library of my school; I had a fondness for fairy tales and mythologies of ancient cultures. In high school and college I went to the library to hang out or do homework, mostly because it had aircon.

I would say that my overall experience with libraries has been positive, and they have been a safe space for me throughout my life.

Top comments (0)