DEV Community

jkescueta
jkescueta

Posted on

Evaluating My Personal Storage

Files (Or File Category) Estimated File Size Local Drive External Drive Cloud Storage Others
Academic Files 20GB Yes - My Documents N/A Yes - UVLê Email and Discord
Movies and TV series 209 GB N/A Yes - External Hard Drive N/A N/A
Nintendo Switch Game Save Data 100 GB Yes - system memory and microSD card N/A Yes - via Nintendo Online Account N/A
Org Files 759MB Yes - My Documents N/A Yes- some are on the org Discord and GDrive N/A
Photos in Computer 349MB Yes - My Pictures N/A Yes - Microsoft One Drive and Google Drive Facebook and Facebook Messenger

While evaluating my personal storage, I have realized that most of my data is saved on my external hard drive or PC hard drive. If anything happens to my external hard drive I would lose all my data, as it is not backed up anywhere. Most of my data stored on my PC hard drive is backed up, however I may lose the few files that I do have only saved locally if anything should happen to my PC hard drive. Finally, I could lose the files saved to my cloud storage if I lose access to the associated accounts.

The best way to mitigate the risk of losing data is to back up all of the files that I only saved locally to the cloud or to my external hard drive. However, this is not a viable strategy for the data saved on my external hard drive. Since the size of the data exceeds the data limit of free cloud storages and my PC hard drive, the best plan for my external hard drive is to select only the most important files to back up and keep a list of data that I only save on it.

Top comments (0)