DEV Community

Cover image for Angular v17 and SSR, is it really necessary?
Martin
Martin

Posted on

Angular v17 and SSR, is it really necessary?

Hi guys, I have just come to state where I have nearly all new features of new Angular 17 except SSR. So I was like watching a lot of videos and read a lot of articles how cool it is regarding to mainly SEO and maybe other things but I am not sure it this is so cool as for implementation and whole process of set up vs classic SPA application.

The problem I have to accept is that we now have like two bundles. Client bundle and server bundle and server bundle includes the server-side rendering logic, the Express server, and the Angular application code that runs on the server. But the issue is that to deploy our angular we need now to deploy it to hosting as usual this is for client bundle but we have another thing to deal with and this is that to deploy the contents of the dist/server directory to a Node.js server (such as a cloud server, a VPS, or a dedicated server).

So like life from my opinion is really easy not counting SSR where we have like angular only on client side on hosting and on VPS server we have like really backend services APIs. But with SSR now we have to deal with installing Node.js on our VPS, then deploy there our server bundle and no matter all other stuff regarding linux set up for now server running.

My question is to all of you who know angular and use it and have experience, what do you thing about it. Is it really something so must have that you are willing to overcome all such things like another server running etc. just for better SEO?

I just want to have/see your opinion how you see this and to maybe change my mind ;-)

Thanks

Martin

Top comments (0)