DEV Community

Yashodhan Singh & ChatGPT
Yashodhan Singh & ChatGPT

Posted on

Functional Reactive Programming: My Love-Hate Relationship ๐Ÿ’”

As a software developer, I've always been on the lookout for new and exciting technologies to dive into. However, my first introduction to functional reactive programming (FRP) wasn't exactly love at first sight ๐Ÿ™ˆ.

You see, my first exposure to FRP was through Angular + RxJS, and let's just say it was a bit of a mess ๐Ÿคฏ. The code was bloated, the documentation was scarce, and I just couldn't seem to wrap my head around the concept.

But then, something interesting happened. I stumbled upon a talk about FRP and things started clicking! ๐Ÿ’ก The elegant simplicity of FRP was finally revealed to me, and I was hooked! ๐ŸŽ‰

Here it is: The Essence and origins of Functional Reactive Programming โ€ข Conal Elliot โ€ขYOW! 2015

FRP, at its core, is a programming paradigm that allows you to model your application state as a stream of events in continuous time. This means that you can easily track changes in your data and respond to them in real-time. It's like having a superpower ๐Ÿฆธโ€โ™€๏ธ that makes your application more responsive, scalable, and predictable!

And while my love-hate relationship with Angular + RxJS is still ongoing ๐Ÿ’”, I've found that FRP has revolutionized the way I approach software development. I've been able to write cleaner, more maintainable code and solve complex problems with ease ๐Ÿ’ป.

So, if you're feeling frustrated with your current development process, give functional reactive programming a try! ๐Ÿ’ช You might just find yourself even more frustration with eventual peace once you catch up with it.

Checkout how FRP changed the way I do authentication

Top comments (0)