DEV Community

Cover image for Day 324 : Wonderful
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 324 : Wonderful

liner notes:

  • Saturday : Day started off really good. Got some coding in. Got some Arby's. I was hanging out in a new park. Pretty chill. It was a cloudy day so I just parked under a tree. Then when it was time for the radio show, I went to set up. The WiFi connection was pretty slow, but I could work with it. Went to turn on the laptop I use to run the show, it would not connect to the WiFi. Tried for a few minutes, it just kept going back to the log in page. Awesome. The park I normally go to is really close so I figured I would go there. Put some items on the couch so they would fall while I drove, jumped into the driver seat and headed to the park. While driving, I heard something fall. Got to the park, looked in the back and saw that I forgot to secure a drink. Luckily it landed right side up, but looks like some still spilled out. Cleaned it up, turned on my laptop and still not connecting. Wonderful. Last resort was to try and connect to my hotspot. That worked! Figured since I wasn't using the WiFi, I might as well go to my parking spot so I wouldn't have to drive there after the show. Made it to my spot, got the show ready just in time to start. Then I had some technical difficulties during the show. haha Still a good time though. The recording of this week's show is at https://kNOwBETTERHIPHOP.com

Radio show episode image of the Drake meme criticizing Democrats for pretending to care about issues and doing nothing when they can do something about it with the words Mar 6th 2021 AmerIcan, but won't

  • Sunday : Since the radio show went to okay yesterday, I decided to hang out at my parking spot all day instead of going to a park. Finished up the post radio show promo work. Then I watched "Coming To America" in preparation of watching the sequel "Coming 2 America". After watching the first film, I went to work on some code for my side project. I want to be able to create an event and set the date and time. To make it easier for the person creating the event, I want them to use their local time so that way they don't have to think about other timezones. The application will then convert the timestamp to UTC and save it to the database. That way, when a person views the event page, I can convert the timestamp from the database to the user's local time. It's not as straightforward as I thought it would be. There's a lot of stuff that went into it. And trying to test to make sure it works was a whole another situation. I basically went down a rabbit hole and then it was time to watch "The Walking Dead" and "The Talking Dead". It got pretty late and went to sleep.

  • Professional : Got up early so I could take part in the weekly live stream show we do. Learned something I've never come across in JavaScript. We wanted to delete a key/value pair from an object. I thought we would maybe have to create a new object. Nope, you can just do delete object.key . Blew my mind! haha Had a couple of meetings, did a little coding and then took some training.

  • Personal : So yeah, between meetings and every once in a while, I got to walk around the park. The weather was really nice and not a lot of folks so plenty of room.

View of some land and waterways in the foreground with mountains in the background with large clouds in Torres del Paine, Chile

Tonight, I want to get the local date/time thing finished up and implemented into my admin panel. I've been working on it in CodePen. I want to watch "Coming 2 America". Then maybe some more coding before calling it a night.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)