DEV Community

Cover image for Day 428 : HIPHOP
HIPHOP and CODE
HIPHOP and CODE

Posted on

Day 428 : HIPHOP

liner notes:

  • Professional : Had a company-wide meeting. It was good to hear what's happening with the company and how what our team works on has an impact on the company. Pretty cool. Spent the rest of the day trying to debug something in my demo application and styling some Web Components I made. Pretty productive.

  • Personal : Last night I was able to assign a domain name to my node media server and get the SSL certificate worked out. So now I can input the domain name into an application as an RTMP endpoint. So it makes it easier than trying to remember the IP address each time. Also, I had to get the domain connected because the Let's Encrypt Certbot does a thing where it pings the website domain and sees if it hits the server you are running tool on to verify that you do own it. So getting the certificate was too bad. I had a bunch of issues trying to get the node media server recognize the file location of the cert and private key. Turns out that since I ran sudo in certbot commands, the folders and files aren't available to other users, only root. So I found a post where I had to create a group, then and users to the group and then make the folders and files available to that group. Still kind of hazy on everything, it was late, but the important thing is that it works. I even created a CodePen so I can see the stream somewhere on the net that wasn't inside of the admin dashboard. I just streamed to the server from my phone and even tried from my Insta360 One R camera and both worked no problem! It's pretty cool. There are 2 options that I tried, streaming an flv file via HTTP and Websockets. It looks like Websockets may have lower latency. Going to play around with it more.

A large field with some orange flowers in Antelope Valley, CA, USA with mountains in the distance

Today is acknowledged as HIPHOP's Birthday. 48 years! Wow! As for the side project. I've decided that I'm going to go with streaming the flv file from the server. I was thinking about turning it into an HLS stream, but that will require downloading another package and transforming it on the server. I'm already using the most basic server and don't want to add more tasks for it to do and over work it. My plan is to have the flv stream come into a dashboard and then from there send out the feed with some other things I'll add like a watermark and maybe scenes included to the viewers. I'll probably have it transformed into an HLS stream then. We'll see. Now that is done, I want to work on getting a quick site and dashboard put together for the project. A new Marvel series started today, so I'll probably watch the first episode what eating dinner. Then do some site design for the new side project. Probably go through tracks for this week's radio show and call it a night.

Have a great night!

peace piece
Dwane / conshus
https://dwane.io / https://HIPHOPandCODE.com

Top comments (0)