DEV Community

Cover image for 5 (More) Rust Project Ideas ~ For Beginners to Mid Devs 🦀
Eleftheria Batsou
Eleftheria Batsou

Posted on • Originally published at eleftheriabatsou.hashnode.dev on

5 (More) Rust Project Ideas ~ For Beginners to Mid Devs 🦀

Hey there, welcome back to my blog! 👋

If you're learning Rust and want to practice your skills I want to introduce you to 5 (more) practical projects that will help you in real-world projects. I wrote three more similar articles, one for complete beginners, one for beginners and one for beginners to mid level. This article is also for beginner to mid Rust devs and the focus is on building games! 🎯

Below you'll find: the 5 project ideas, the posts (tweets) or articles where I'm explaining step-by-step how you can build these projects and a link to the corresponding GitHub repo!

Project Idea 5: CLI Video Downloader

You can create a CLI video downloader and cover things such as parsing command-line arguments, making HTTP requests, and handling errors. By the end, you'll have a deeper understanding of Rust's powerful features and how to apply them in real-world scenarios.

Read my tutorial here.

Check it on GitHub.

Project Idea 4: Port Scanner

How about creating an IP sniffer/port sniffer! You'll learn how to build a basic network tool that can scan ports on a specified IP address to see which ones are open.

This is a practical project that can help you understand network programming, asynchronous Rust with Tokio, and handling command-line arguments using Bpaf. By the end, you will have a clearer insight into network operations and Rust's powerful asynchronous features.

Read my tutorial here.

Check it on GitHub.

Project Idea 3: Snake Game

Let's start building some games! How about the "Snake Game"?! Well, I built it myself and I need to mention that it was not an easy task but in the end you'll learn a lot!

Read the 1st part of the tutorial here and the 2nd one here.

Check it on GitHub.

Project Idea 2: Chat Application

Chat applications are something many common and also many applications use. In the version that I built (and you can find a tutorial below), the application has two parts: 1. Client, 2.Server. You're able to type something on the client side and the server will receive it.

Read my tutorial here.

Check it on GitHub.

Project Idea 1: Pong Game

How about building a Pong game using the piston engine as well as the OpenGL graphics library. You can create a board with 2 paddles, one on the left and one on the right side, and one ball. You can have 2 players who will be able to handle the left and the right paddles with Y and X keys and the up and down arrows.

Read my tutorial here.

Check it on GitHub.


Notes

I'm new to Rust and I hope these small projects will help you get better and improve your skills. Check here part 1, part 2 and part 3 of Rust project ideas and if you need more resources I'd also like to suggest Akhil Sharma's and Tensor's Programming YouTube Channels.


👋 Hello, I'm Eleftheria, Community Manager, developer, public speaker, and content creator.

🥰 If you liked this article, consider sharing it.

🔗 All links | X | LinkedIn

Top comments (0)