DEV Community

Eli-pixel
Eli-pixel

Posted on

How I became a self-taught programmer

Intro

Started coding in 2019

So I've been reading, web searching, and other things too. It started out when I had the idea for how cool it would be to program my own game! I wanted to learn so bad but I had no time. Later my friend Henry (I don't know if he has a DEV account) started teaching me. Now Henry was ADVANCED. So he taught me a few beginners stuff. Then he left me. I was left with the local library and my internet.

Becoming

I became a programmer because https://w3schools.com . I was into python and HTML. Why I do not have any idea. Probably because HTML is for web-development and I thought it would be cool to make your own website. Python, probably because Henry suggested it to me. I wish I had more suggestions, but it was already a pain to learn two languages at once. It wasn't only w3schools though, it was some websites that I don't remember the links to. I wish I could source them. But enough of that w3schools was the main website. I suddenly noticed one night after finishing a text-based RPG game in python, that I was actually getting the hang of this coding thing (remember this was at the end of 2019). I started liking coding more and more. Then I was immediately in love. I started making games and websites. I am trying to learn as mush as I can about those two languages. I hoped you enjoyed!

Top comments (0)