DEV Community

Cover image for My 2022 Year in Review
Emmanuel Jerry
Emmanuel Jerry

Posted on

My 2022 Year in Review

Well...2022 was kind of a weird year, there were ups and down. The downs latter had good advantages and some ups came with their own disadvantages. But for what it's worth 2022 was a really good year ngl.
I started by getting a good laptop(My friend got it for me :)...one of my biggest wins), i improved drastically in my work ethics and damn i learnt alot in 2022. I would say it was my 'eureka' moment and alot of massive mindset shifts. I achieved some of my goals and the rest i didn't.

Wins

  • I got a good PC this yea, improve my coding productivity
  • I achieved some of my goals(not all) concerning development in my skills, career and network
  • Found love and it's working really well for me (my first non toxic relationship...lolz)
  • I had better understanding of who i really was, discovered alot about myself and it has helped to really know how to work with myself better
  • Gained confidence in myself and my ability to figure shit out
  • Read alot of books that changed my views on alot things, i didn't keep count (; . Here are my top 3:
    • Incerto - Nassim Taleb (I think its a compilation of some of his work)
    • Mastery - Robert Greene
    • Laws of Human Nature - Robert Greene
  • Implemented some ideas i had (before i hardly implemented any thing i thought of)...thanks to learning tinkering. I wasn't scared of picking of challenges i knew close to nothing about
  • Got free from sociail media bondage, also i was able to think more clearly.
  • Got more accountable to myself. Next year will try and get a team of accountability partners

Losses

  • Didn't really achieve any of my financial goals ):
  • I burnt out at the middle of the year
  • Got into a few debts
  • Failed to start any business yet
  • Looked for external validation...it later stopped sha
  • Lost some money to crypto investments and trading

What I Learned

  • Nothing beats working on yourself and growing, all those things you seek you can get easily if you become a higher version of yourself. The money, fame, girls ..whatever were year 3 years ago, they will till be year 10 years from now.. but time is a limited resource
  • Become a no-nonsense implementer of your ideas, things you learn, you hypothesis or whatever you wanna try out...you will gain a wide range of understanding from doing than you ever will from reading a book. We humans learn and understand better by doing...its from practice to theory school and society mixed it up
  • If you are young, buy experiences life is short. you will be grateful to yourself, life is short make the best of it. Don't be too bent on doing only one thing that you miss out the big picture
  • You need to have above 1000 iq points to beat trial and error ( tinkering ). This understand alone would greatly improve your problem solving skills. The less knowledge you have about something the more you are able to come up with unique ways to solve it. Knowledge is a two edge sword... well its good news and bad news depends on the amount of experience you've had
  • People are one of your greatest asset and their value can't even be measured...the non-linearity is very big
  • Trying out different things is never as bad as it seems don't be in a rush to specialize *Joining a group or lemme tribe of like minds would help you grow immensely (like pottershouse help me grow musically)
  • Never loose yourself trying to please someone or a group of people
  • I learnt how to be a better decision maker even in the face of uncertainty ### People I would Like to Appreciate For Their Immense Contribution to Me Alot of people contributed heavily to me i wouldn't be able to mention all of them. But here are the few that i'll give shout out to
  • Fred (offered help to me in various ways(they are much can't write all in this article) really grateful man)
  • My parents ( have always been supporting me :) supported alot of my ideas that failed lolz )
  • My Cousins (Steven has been always coming through for me, Egwu and Aunty Chemi most especially financially )
  • My roomies : Orka, man has really been of great help i can even call him my accountability partner we have been learning together from the start although even different domains and despite having different philosophy towars life...Gospel has been a source of immense encouragement and inspiration, always supported me in ways he can

Well meet y'all in 2023...We will contnue building off from where we stopped in 2022

Top comments (0)