DEV Community

ErrorCode0
ErrorCode0

Posted on

I hate my macbook

Repost of: errorcodezero.dev/blog/i-hate-my-macbook/

Installing linux on a 2015 MacBook(Intel) is honestly something which I hope to never have to go through again. The broadcom wifi card within the machine makes it so you have to install an annoying driver in order to just use the machine. But, it gets better! You get weird issues connecting to WPA3-Enterprise networks. I've tried for almost 2 years to solve this issue but I genuinely can't find a single fix. Not to mention that every time I have to reinstall my system, it is almost impossible to install the driver since you need internet to get the driver. But the only way to get internet is with the driver. So I have to resort to some tethering using my phone.

I hope this serves as a PSA to anyone looking to turn old laptops into Linux ones. Whatever you do, don't pick a MacBook to do so.

Top comments (0)