DEV Community

Esraa Nasr
Esraa Nasr

Posted on • Updated on

What's a webring

Everyday we can learn new things if we search read and try to do something new.

Today when I'm doing my daily challenge. I found codepen webring challenge in the trending section.

To be honest I didn't understand what's this?! so after search and read some articles and check many pens. I understood.

I want to write this article to share my knowledge with you.

What's webring?

A webring is a group of websites that are linked together and, generally, are all related by a common topic. you can click through the website to another one that is part of the ring. and if you continue clicking through to next website in the ring you'll return to the site at which you started

Uses of a webring

  • Making research easier

There's no need to go back and back again to a search engine to find more resources on a topic. you can discover additional sites that may be of interest to them.

  • Increasing traffic to your website

Traffic to your website helps to improve your rank which in turn generates more traffic, but you want to make sure that the increase in traffic is associated with an increase in engagement as well. If your traffic is increasing but your conversion rates are decreasing, you’re not bringing in the right traffic. so you need to add the related site to make the user as long as time on site that'll increase traffic, and if you introduce useful sites.

Note This circular structure is where the ring in the webring comes from.

Here's my project. I'm going to add next, previous and random buttom

More information about webring

Top comments (0)