DEV Community

Matt Merrick
Matt Merrick

Posted on

I have been researching the best tools a dev should build. Here’s the top 5.

Hey All,

I have always been someone who loves to try new things. I mean ALWAYS… I never can just finish a project , I always get bored and move on.

Years of doing this has lead me to a few things.

  1. Most complex tools aren’t for me.
  2. Simple is better

It was a few years ago and I came across a calculator. It was getting so many views! So I started building out stuff…

Percentage Calculators
Finance Calculators
Height Conversions
Countdown Timers
Random Generator

And so much more.

Then it hit me other developers would love these as well.

Why?

  1. Helps build out your current site.
  2. Can be standalone and rack in some nice passive income.

So I started niche tools it saves you hours of research, planning and lets you just build. I started it 2 months ago and already have 100+ people sign up so the idea is valid.

Now I plan to expand on it and make it so you can view your niche and tools that you should include on your website to attract more views.

For example; you have a headshot photo AI app. Add in some free tools that allow the user to crop, resize, add backgrounds for a profile picture. All can be separate pages. This is just one of many examples.

It’s going to lots of fun to help others and cut down the building time for them.

Talk soon,
Matt

Top comments (0)