DEV Community

Cover image for Introducing Acey (state management lib for React Native)
Fantasim
Fantasim

Posted on

Introducing Acey (state management lib for React Native)

Hello,

For 3 years, I gradually coded and improved a state management library built for React Native, but then also for ReactJS, called Acey.

GitHub logo AceyJS / acey

A robust, lightweight (~30kb) and portable object oriented state manager tailored for React. ⚡

A robust, lightweight (~30kb) and portable object oriented state manager


acey + Reusability. | - Debugging. | - Code. | + Productivity

Object Oriented State Manager tailored for React {Native}

Acey aims to be for States what React is for Components

  • Easily code decoupled and reusable states for JS applications.
  • Lightweight but highly customisable so there is no need for external librairies/tools when handling states
  • Robust by a boilerplate free and class oriented architecture, so debugging is over. (no selectors, reducers, context, bindings, etc..)

Why Acey exists ?

As with most libraries, it started with the tiredness of repetitions. 💡

In December 2019, I was starting an umpteenth React-Native application and found myself coding the same states that I previously did in other apps Reusability of components was easy with React, but I couldn't find any existing state manager that would make state reusability cool but that also combine …

Since then, I have used it on many projects, and I can say it’s pretty stable. I also lately improved the documentation, so I think it’s time now to make it public.

So, to sum up, and answer the question, “How is Acey different from dozens of other state managers ?”

  • I love Object Oriented programming, so it’s thought like React of the good old times, that is to say: a state - a class.

  • It’s boilerplate-free. (no selectors, reducers, context, or bindings.)

  • States can auto-synchronize with the local store, and pull back their previous data after the app quit/crash/leave/whatever, which is a good plus in React-Native, especially to make your app usable even without a network.

I have more things to say, but I think the best is still to check out the Github Page, where there are many concrete examples.

If you have any questions, you can ask me here or open an issue on GitHub. 🐱

Enjoy your weekend and new year's eve !

Top comments (0)