DEV Community

Farai Gandiya
Farai Gandiya

Posted on • Originally published at codelab.farai.xyz on

Web Features That May Not Work As You’d Expect

Web Features That May Not Work As You’d Expect was first published on Farai's Codelab.


As the web gets more and more capable, developers are able to make richer online experiences. There are times, however, where some new web capabilities may not work as you would expect in the interest of usability, security and privacy.

I have run into situations like this. Like lazy loading in HTML. It’s easy to drop that attribute onto an image element only to realize… it actually needs more than that to do its thing. We’ll get into that specific one in a moment as we look at a few other features that might not work exactly as you‘d expect.

This is the first post I’ve written for an online web dev publication. I’m embarassed to say that it took 6 months to get it out, but here it is! Thanks to Geoff and Chris for helping me with this! I do hope to write more content for other publications throughout the rest of the year.

Read Web Features That May Not Work As You’d Expect on CSS Tricks


Thanks for reading! If you liked this post, consider supporting my work by:

You can also subscribe to my newsletter.

Have feedback? Send an email to gandiyafarai+feedback at gmail dot com

Top comments (0)