DEV Community

Facundo Soria
Facundo Soria

Posted on

What do you ask when are applying to a job?

Lately, I've been doing some interviews and there is always a part where you have the opportunity to ask questions, I'm personally not a person who asks a lot, but generally I'm interested in knowing things of the daily work (methodologies, communication with teammates, my responsibilities, etc.) and also technical things, what technologies do they use, what are they looking to achieve on a technical level ...

What questions do you ask the people who are interviewing you when you are applying to a job?

If the interviews have multiple steps, what questions do you ask:

  • Recruiters
  • Technical leader or person who is more technical
  • Product owner
  • Human resources department

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair • Edited

To someone who would be my peer:

  • What's the biggest challenge you had to face when you started and how did the company help you overcome it?
  • What's your daily routine?
  • How often do things slip out of that routine and what causes it?
  • What's your favourite/least favourite aspect of the job?

To a manager:

  • Where do you see the company in 5 years?
  • What nagging thought is going through your mind, where later this afternoon you might have a coffee with $other_interviewer and say, you know, he was great, BUT

I have a habit of asking all sorts of questions that people probably would expect going the other way.

Collapse
 
fblind profile image
Facundo Soria

Wow!, I never thought to ask that sort of question to a manager but I think are awesome, I mean that could tell you so much about the person and how open is he or she. I'll use these for sure in my next interview!