DEV Community

Pachi πŸ₯‘ for Feministech

Posted on

We willl keep coding

Hello :)
Did you know that DEV gives you a template for you to join #wecoded without having to think too much about what to write?
I just love it! - Later this week I will post the questions in Portuguese!
So let's get started.

How can we actively embrace equality in the tech industry?

This is a difficult question, it has to be part of the core of the industry if we want to do it and keep doing it actively.
From training Tech Recruiters on Bias to teaching men to treat women respectfully.

What do you perceive as the primary obstacles to achieving gender equity in tech?

Jobs... I know firsthand how difficult it is to find the first job. And it is almost harder to find a good one, especially if you are from an underrepresented group.

Reflect on a moment at work that affirmed the importance of gender equity to you.

At my first big tech job, my C-level was a woman of color. It was so special and inspiring to me to have someone like her to look up to.

Looking ahead, what are your hopes and aspirations for gender equity in tech?

My hope is that we will keep fighting for our spaces to be more diverse, and slowly diverse spaces will be the normal.

What effective strategies do you employ to advocate for gender equity and diversity in your workplace or community?

I am pretty loud about this! From fostering a more inclusive language to giving space to people from all backgrounds to get the highlight.

Have you faced instances of bias or discrimination at work? If so, what was the experience like?

The one that got me the most was a boss telling me I only got an audience here at DEV for being a woman.
I was mad but wanted to laugh because we know it is quite the opposite, since in technical fields man content is usually taken more seriously.

It is frustrating!!!
As I mentioned, I am pretty loud about these things now, but I didn't back them, and I often thing about how many people get discouraged because of "inoffensive" comments like that.
I am mad because I want to do more but idk what else I can be doing.
So I just do whatever I can.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Your experience with the boss's comment sounds like a classic case of "404 Error: Logic Not Found."

But hey, at least now you're levelling up your game, turning those frustrating moments into power-ups for change!

Collapse
 
catherineisonline profile image
Ekaterine Mitagvaria

There will always be someone who underrates women but there will always be someone who helps us to embrace our strength! Keep being loud! πŸ’ͺ🏻

Collapse
 
morgannadev profile image
Morganna

So let's get loud together. And if the world calls us crazy, we will show what crazy can do. (I love the video that has this phrase).

Collapse
 
akashdev23 profile image
Akash Dev

keep uploading.

Collapse
 
noberst profile image
Namee

Please keep sharing your voice!!!πŸ’•