DEV Community

Ray
Ray

Posted on

The Infinite Journey

On Wednesday, September 16th, I decided to take a course on Open Source concepts. This has lead me to write this blog! And to pursuing research into open source projects. Greetings to whoever might read this, my name's Ray, and this blog will be the hotspot for any writings I might have about this course, open source in general, or the occasional keyboard smashing after failing to get data from whatever database I'm using into my API for the 20th time and oh my god I just wanna test my app dafsdklajsdflkjasdlkf;asjdf

Anyway, a little more about me. I'm based in Newmarket, ON right now, fairly thankful that the pandemic has given me a truckload of hours at my job and has taken away my commute to school expenses. However, I'm planning to move to the heart of Toronto to be one of those hipster web developers that wear scarves and don't actually have to code.

I'm fairly interested in web development as a field and I worked primarily in Angular during my PRJ666 (Project Implementation) course. I'm quite interested in contributing to web-based projects. Given that, I took a look at React Query (https://github.com/fluentinstroll/react-query, my fork of the project) and it seemed quite interesting! It's all about fetching data and caching data to make sure a react app has data to show at all times. I'm sure there's a lot more to it and I can't wait to get into learning more.

That's it, today I start the infinite journey into open source with my fellow students. Good luck all!

Top comments (0)