DEV Community

Frank
Frank

Posted on

Issues installing XDebug to work with VS Code - php

Hello everyone, this is my first post and I am a neophyte, so I apologise in advance for bringing such a silly thing.
I have been following this tutorial :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HrQWtbxY1Hs

I paste the output of http://localhost/dashboard/phpinfo.php
into the XDebug Wizard :

https://xdebug.org/wizard

So far, so good... I got the following instructions :


Instructions

  1. Download xdebug-3.3.2.tgz
  2. Install the pre-requisites for compiling PHP extensions. On your Mac, we only support installations with 'homebrew', and brew install php && brew install autoconf should pull in the right packages.
  3. Unpack the downloaded file with tar -xvzf xdebug-3.3.2.tgz
  4. Run: cd xdebug-3.3.2
  5. Run: phpize (See the FAQ if you don't have phpize).

As part of its output it should show:

Configuring for:
...
Zend Module Api No: 20220829
Zend Extension Api No: 420220829
If it does not, you are using the wrong phpize. Please follow this FAQ entry and skip the next step.

  1. Run: ./configure
  2. Run: make
  3. Run: mkdir -p /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20220829
  4. Run: cp modules/xdebug.so /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20220829/
  5. Update /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/etc/php.ini and add the line: zend_extension = xdebug

11. Restart the Apache Webserver

The case is that neither the Tutorial or the Wizard tells where to unpack the downloaded file "xdebug-3.3.2.tgz"... I left the packed file in the Downloads folder (MacOS)

**I went as far as step 7 (run "make")

I paused there since I seen ALL libraries have been created in the Download folder...
I wonder what to do next... I guess that step 8 and 9 will move ALL the stuff to the right place, is that right?**

My Zend Module API No is different from the one in the step 8 and 9 instructions of the Wizard, so I have to use mine, alright... Do I have to correct something else in the paths???

Thanks a lot for your help, I am sort of overwhelmed with this (supposedly easy) installation...

:)

Top comments (0)