DEV Community

Cover image for ColdFusion Summit History (Tourist Edition)
James Moberg
James Moberg

Posted on

ColdFusion Summit History (Tourist Edition)

I wouldn't call myself a regular at conferences, but I've enjoyed attending some CF-related conferences in the past. Luckily my Monument 2 Photo device, a self-hosted Google Photos device, makes it easier for me to refresh my memory on "when and where" I've been.

May 3-6, 2007 - cf.Objective in Minneapolis, MN at Hotel Sofitel

I flew to MN (my home state) and attended this conference with my brother (who is now a dotNet developer). I believe I traveled with my entire family (wife & 2 sons) so that we could also travel around and visit family at the same time.

2007 - 20?? ColdFusion Meet-ups at Adobe HQ in San Francisco

I'd occassionally drive up from the Monterey area to attend monthly meet-ups at 601 Townsend location. I don't recall when they stopped having meetings there, but I believe it was around the time that Adobe relocated the development of ColdFusion to India around 2021.

Oct 10-11, 2016 - Adobe ColdFusion Summit 2016 at Mandalay Bay

This was my first official ACF conference. I drove alone and stayed at the nearby Hotel Galaxy (2 star) hotel to save some money (big mistake) and I don't think that I got any sleep. I recall hanging out with a lot of the speakers and traveling around. We hung out at the Rí Rá Irish Pub to listen to the Black DOnnellys. I think that this was the first time that I attended a security seminar by Pete Freitag and became really worried at some of the things that we weren't considering security-wise.

April 12, 2017 ColdFusion Roadshow - 601 Townsend, SF

I traveled alone by car for this early breakfast event. There was only about 10-15 in attendance and we learned about some of the upcoming features of ColdFusion 2018.

Oct 3-2, 2022 - Adobe ColdFusion Summit 2022 at The Mirage

I drove traveled to this conference with my wife & son. We showed up a couple days early so that we could visit some long-time friends that moved to the area and also take in the Donny Osmand show. Our friends recommended Tacos El Gordo and we thought it looked close, but turned out to be a very log & hot walk during the afternoon. In the evening, we walked to Olive Garden to save some money and take advantage of the Never Ending Pasta Bowl.

Oct 1-3, 2023 - Adobe ColdFusion Summit 2023 at The Mirage

We drove to Vegas early and took in some shows. We experienced the Cirque du Soleil "O" show at the Bellagio. We also walked walked to Olive Garden (to save some money and enjoy the Never Ending Pasta Bowl). We were able to get their quickly by taking a background route by the newly-constructed Sphere as the entire street was shut down to traffic due to the upcoming Formula 1 Las Vegas Grand Prix. On our return home, we stopped at Eddie World in Yermo, CA. This is now a perpetual pitstop for us.

30 Sep - 1 Oct, 2024 - Adobe ColdFusion Summit 2024 at Resorts World

We'll be driving all night Thursday to arrive early again this year. My wife & son are traveling with me, but my son will be attending the conference this year. (He's a sophomore majoring in Marine Biology and we're hoping that CFML will give him a technology edge.) We're signed-up to experience Area15 (Army of the Dead VR, AR Dodgeball and Birdly) on Friday, The Sphere Postcard From Earth (Live Cam) on Saturday and Blue Man Group on Sunday. My wife wanted to experience the Tank Pool at the Golden Nugget on Fremont Street. Tacos El Gordo is located right across the street from Resorts World, so we'll definitely be returning. I have my doubts about Olive Garden this year due to distance.

Interested in meeting (or re-meeting) in 2024?

I enjoy talking tech and making new friends. If you're going to the 2024 conference, feel free to hit me up via my about.me page. See you there!

Top comments (0)