DEV Community

Geoff
Geoff

Posted on

A Tier List of Drupalcon Swag T-shirts

A staple of conference swag is the t-shirt, and some companies do it better than others. With Drupalcon Pittsburgh happening soon now¹, I thought I would shuffle through my t-shirt collection to rank some of the ones I've gotten at Drupalcons past.

Lullabot

Lullabot Shirts

  • Fun, whimsical designs
  • Probably won't be presumed as being a 'Bot while wearing these
  • Limited quantities, so I missed out on them some years 😔

A Tier


Four Kitchens

Four Kitchens Shirts

  • A fun play on the company name
  • Theme (usually) tied to the conference location
  • There was a good chance of both me and a former manager wearing the same one of these shirts on the same day

A Tier


Cheeky Monkey Media

Cheeky Monkey Shirt

  • A handful of funny or nerdy options were available
  • I'd wear the Drupal comm badge even through I'm not a Trekkie (though the graphic is a little too big), but the big slogan on the back takes this shirt out of something I'd wear in public
  • The fabric of this shirt does not spark joy
  • Not for me, but there's potential

B Tier


Acquia

Acquia Shirts

  • DC LA shirt has small, unobtrusive design and logo - wouldn't hesitate to wear going about a normal day.
  • Slogans are not my thing, but I do like pink
  • Sizing on the slogan shirt is very snug

B- Tier


Pantheon

Pantheon Shirts

D Tier


The basic logo

  • I'll save the individual companies from shame, cause there's a lot
  • I resist wearing shirts with just the logo of companies I've actually worked for² - I'm not going to wear one of an agency I don't, or a product I don't use
  • Your marketing dollars are better spent on a shirt that doesn't only get worn when I'm going to get dirty cleaning my bike
  • Your company probably has a designer on the team - give them a day to make something fun that people will be excited to wear

D Tier


Twilio

Twilio Shirt

  • Simple illustration related to the company's product

B- Tier


Mandrill

Mandrill Shirt

  • It's just a logo, but it's colourful and could just be mistaken for something I bought after visiting the zoo.

C+ Tier


Tier ranking with company logos

Do you have a favourite swag shirt from a past conference? Is there a great shirt to get in Pittsburgh? Some other great swag item you've received at a conference? Tell me about it in the comments.


¹ I will not be there
² Most logos from any company, really


And if your team is looking for a Senior Drupal Developer with oddly specific opinions on some niche topics, send me a message.

Top comments (0)