DEV Community

Cover image for Curiosity in Tech
Gaurav Vala
Gaurav Vala

Posted on

Curiosity in Tech

A bit of a background check here, I've been interested in computers like so many others, but one time i went to buy books with my cousin (who was studying CS back then) for his college and then i saw him buy this assembly language book, this heavy book which had this name on it “Intel” and it sparked my curiosity more because Intel was this magistic company that i only saw the sticker of on computers!

Now that moment made me get into computer engineering and then slowly i got into web development and then…. At last here i am a web designer working and creating things with HTML CSS!, that end my have been a bit anticlimactic, but my point is, i got into this field because of my curiosity of how these machines called computers work, i mean i slowly learnt little about assembly language and then the binary code and also the all these things i saw in my father's keypad phone and the things he did while working on his computer it all made sense, all the concepts i learnt and got to know during my diploma, it all made sense!

This all made me appreciate this world of computer!

Okay! Let's get to main topic, so….there is me who was really into this world and then there were my classmates and others who were into this field and i can see how much difference of interest me and them were having! There was no curiousity, no interest in learning or getting to know how things worked. So like the common narrative of getting into IT field around me was that the salary was good, and also it was much easier them getting into Civil, Mechanical or Electrical Engineering.

Most of these people were not into this field because of the same curiosity. which was fine by me, but now being an employee and also working in this field for past 2 years I've noticed this that yeah people are coming to just complete their tasks somehow and go home, whereas i see some people on internet who are passionate about talking these things, how they work, how the internals function. It makes me jealous tho, i also wanna be around those kinda people.

Basically Nerd out about this fascinating technologies that make our lives better everyday. Most people outside of IT think we are writing gibberish all day sitting in front of the screen, to some extent that's true but also logically it makes sense. In india specifically we are getting so many startups and so many ideas being executed everyday that makes our lives easy, be it payment systems, going places. Even smallest vendors are using these technologies.

Then comes us, the IT guys with curiosity on how these things function and what type of improvements can be added to make the experience more better! That's the curiousity I'm looking for, from people around me. I am seeing some senior developers talk about them which makes me happy and i also join them even though I don't understand many things but i go home and look into those things. One of which is System Designs, I don't understand it much right now but hopefully I'll get into it properly.

Well that's it! Thanks for reading till end(if you really did then, I really appreciate it!!), also do checkout my other blogs if you like to!

Top comments (0)