DEV Community

Sim Greenbaum
Sim Greenbaum

Posted on

Junior Developer

I will change from my normal technical blog style and give some tips that apply to all levels of devs.

Recently I was hired to build a few projects where the technology and requirements where out of my comfort zone my initial reaction was to turn it down let the more experienced developers who are “better” at it. I spoke it over with a good friend/mentor and he showed me that I can build much more if I would believe in myself. All these “thoughts” are just imposter syndrome sinking in and destroying you. Yes, you are a Junior Developer and should always listen to what the experienced devs have to say because they actually do know more. However that doesn’t mean you don’t know how to do it, you might have to read the docs a little more but stop you do have mad skills! .

Top tips to succeed as a Junior Developer,

  1. Think
  2. Think again what needs to be done.
  3. Don’t be embarrassed to ask for help even if it might seem obvious.
  4. Know what your skills are .
  5. What areas can your skills use improvement.
  6. Dont just copy and paste code , know what your code should be doing.
  7. Find a friend/mentor to help you grow.
  8. If a senior Dev is telling you something that you know your right, don't be push-over stay firm but be respectful there is a chance you might only think your right but are very wrong.
  9. Read Docs not just Stack overflow, you will learn alot more that way.
  10. Don’t let anyone ever make you feel your worth less because you don’t know XYZ

To the last one, my response to this is always adding the word YET, it usually stops people in their tracks because you have just made it clear to them you not scared to take on new projects/skills.

All the best,

Simcha Greenbaum

Top comments (0)