DEV Community

Girl Knows Tech
Girl Knows Tech

Posted on

Nevertheless, Marie-Philippe Coded

I began coding because...

I wanted to make my guild look cool on neopets.com (seriously)! I started doing graphics on Paint and writing text on them in HTML using coordinates! That was good old times. :)

I'm currently hacking on...

In my classes in software engineering, I'm working on the breakthrough game. We're coding the game using the minimax + alpha beta algorithm, so it performs well. :)
In my other course, we're working on a web application in Ruby on Rails for a non-profit organization.

On my spare time, I'm always working on my blog GirlKnowsTech.com!

I'm excited about...

Working on my blog. This is what motivates me these days and what makes me proud!

My advice for other women who code is...

You are as good as anyone else! Don't be afraid to take your place. You deserve it. Don't let the fear of being the only woman in the room refrain you from amazing opportunities you may have because that is the best choice I ever made for myself.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pwd9000 profile image
Marcel.L

What an inspirational post, it was fun to see how you got into coding.
I bet your guild looks cool. Really love your blog also, I had a look and you have done so so many inspirational videos and posts, it's just so nice to see!
Well done and keep up the great work! :)