DEV Community

Brian Gitego
Brian Gitego

Posted on

Realt.

That's a month down and I couldn't be prouder for where we are now compared to when we started.

This last week we dived into design thinking and how we can apply it into our daily work. The concept design thinking which is an approach to problem-solving where the client's needs are considered first is very interesting because it can help me put more effort in what the client wants and not what I think they want. It was also interesting to find out that we sometimes use design thinking without being aware of it. But knowing this is a plus because it can help me avoid wasted time and resources and increase efficiency.

Alt Text
What made this last week the busiest and most challenging so far though was building our own full stack applications from scratch in four days and demoing them on the fifth. We had to figure out how we were going to manage the workflow, build the GUI from the mock-ups and then the server all in just those four days. I was in a team of three and we built Realt, a real estate mobile application that can facilitate people to buy houses without stressing over price negotiation and remove that uncertainty. I learned a lot about working in a team and working under pressure from this and I like to think aside from the continuous app crashes that occurred in the demo that we did a decent job given the circumstances. I also know that that was just a start and I am confident that we will surpass ourselves next time.

Briefly, this last week was not easy but it was worth it and we pulled through. Looking forward to next week where we'll receive feedback on our apps and improve them. It won't be an easy one as well but what is that yields great outcomes?

Top comments (0)