DEV Community

Cover image for My Computer Emits how much CO2?
TJ Phan
TJ Phan

Posted on

My Computer Emits how much CO2?

I have a habit of leaving the computer running even if I'm stepping away from my work station for more than thirty minutes. I forget that computers and the Internet is no exception to reality and so requires energy to do its magic too.

Out of curiosity, I googled how much energy my computer consumes. Apparently, a busy desktop running 8-hour days requires 200 Wh (Watts per hour) and totals to about 600 kWh or 175kg of C02 emissions per year. That's a lot! a laptop takes about a third of the energy of a desktop. In case the whole watt jargon alludes you like it does to me, this link puts the unit into perspective.

The millions of us who rely on our tech tools can really add up. Stand by mode, I'm your friend now.

How do you reduce waste energy? Please share I'd like to learn!

A moustache man standing in his tool room, staring at the open door where bright golden light blends onto his face

Top comments (0)