DEV Community

Gustavo Garcia Pereira
Gustavo Garcia Pereira

Posted on

A little about my literary passion

I am currently 25 years old, and from a very young age I have enjoyed reading.
But this passion only became more fervent after I was 20.

For a long time I read the wrong way, I wanted to read fast so I could finish quickly and acquire more knowledge quickly.

But it doesn't work like that, when you read, it is a dialogue between you and the author and this needs calm.

When I was younger I couldn't concentrate to read, so I resorted to dynamic reading 'techniques' and the like. But they never worked for me.

So I would pass my eyes over the books and read, but due to my little concentration nothing was stored and worse, I got very frustrated, I kept looking for some magic technique, this doesn't exist.

Well then how did I become a 'real' reader, it's a pretty simple thing really. First quiet, as I said before it's a conversation between you and the reader, I read at the speed I talk a little slower, in fact while imagining the story it makes you occupy your mind with just the story you are reading.

This causes a miracle in your mind, when you start reading and the story just sticks in your brain that is amazing, in the first book or two it may feel bored, but with time this is replaced by a feeling of satisfaction for what you are reading.

Some people will think this is too slow, I need a technique for yesterday, first this does not exist, second the speed and the quantity of reading only increase due to the frequency. I hope you enjoy this advice!

Top comments (0)