DEV Community

Cover image for [SOLVED] Vendor Bill Line Missing When Select Product in Odoo
Gusti Tammam
Gusti Tammam

Posted on

[SOLVED] Vendor Bill Line Missing When Select Product in Odoo

I found an issue that I encountered while working with Odoo, it is the missing Vendor Bill Line when a product is selected. You can watch from this image how the issue is:

Watch: Vendor Bill Line Disappears

As you can see, the vendor bill line disappears when I choose a product on it. It's strange and I don't have clue what happened. But when I try to create a vendor bill line without selecting a product, it works.

Then I've suspecting there was a problem with the product configuration. The first thing to check is the accounting-related settings on that product.

Odoo Product Accounting Settings

It shows no configuration set in this product. It brings me to check the accounting-related configuration of its product category.

Odoo Product Category Accounting Settings

Nothing looks weird from this product category configuration.

I was getting more and more frustrated because I couldn't find the root cause of the problem.

Then, I started the debugging process until I found that the generated journal items when a product is added had the same chart of account type, which was "Payable".

The chart of account names were correct, but the type was suspicious. Normally, when creating a vendor bill, the simple set of journal items would look like this:

Expense [Db]
Account Payable [Cr]

Or, if a stock input account is configured in the product category, it would look like this:

Stock Interim (Received) [Db]
Account Payable [Cr]

Based on my findings, I rechecked the type of account that was configured in the product category. The result was that I found the "Stock Interim (Received)" account had the type "Payable".

Chart of Account Stock Interim

This was the root cause of the problem. The solution was to change the type of this account to the correct type. If it intended to be "Stock Interim" account, by default in Odoo it will have type "Current Assets".

Finally, the problem was solved. I was able to create a vendor bill successfully. If you ever come across a similar problem, please check your chart of account configuration. It could be that you have a chart of account with the wrong type.

Top comments (0)