DEV Community

Cover image for Babylon.js + Google Blockly = No Code FPS, TPS🔥
Abhishek for Helicity.ai

Posted on

Babylon.js + Google Blockly = No Code FPS, TPS🔥

As I was normally going about developing helicity.ai I realised that a lot of functionality can be added.

Problems with current Game Engines IMO

I always thought about Babylon.js like something I can never understand, one of the late realisations of life I guess.

I've tried Unity, I've tried GMS and pure H5 Canvas API.

The problem with Unity was the steep learning curve that never seemed to resolve(it finally did but just saying)..🥲
GMS was good but its paid and you can pretty much do nothing without paying. Also its H5 Development is too buggy. Its only good for PCs
The canvas API was cute and not really a game engine 😅...

The REAL TRUTH about Game Engines

I really dont wan't to hate on any Game Engine, because the truth is and honestly this is with any tech stack...

The best Game Engine is not the one with the most features, its the one which allows you to be the most productive.

Large studios will love Unity and Unreal.
But I'm a web developer..
I live and breathe JavaScript

Why not use the same codebase?

The packages and feature version mismatches of Unity are enough for me to not like it. H5 games are too slow to even build and test and my PC burns man..

Making multiplayer games sucks on normal Game Engines

And my biggest point!! Networking API in any major game engine is so poor! I love making multiplayer games and the best way to do that for me has always been make the damn server in Node.js

So I'd do stuff like use GMS for the Game Client and Node+ websockets for the backend, but it was always like 2 people speaking different languages trying to make a relationship work💔

Using Babylon.js🧡

I made more progress in Babylon in 1 hour than I did in days with Unity or GMS.(GMS is still a very easy one)
The JS code was so readable and easy to understand and felt intuitive
I did not have to worry about adding new features and using more JS libraries because they're all independent.
In babylon it actually feels like you understand the full picture behind your code and between you and your code execution there isnt much of a wall.
Babylon js is made so beautifully you can built so much in it with low code. Talk about the built in physics engine for a JS library!
The Graphical performance is way too good. It even works on low end devices and is the best for H5 games. Make realistic games, host online, anyone with a browser can play.. this is too good to be true.

Also as a web developer its very easy to export your game and host it because you learn so much about deployment specifically.

Connecting with Helicity.ai

I had made a basic 2D engine and it was a good learning experience but even a basic game in 3D is more fun than a complex game in 2D for the average guy.

Now that I understood babylon, I wanted to integrate it with Google's Blockly, to provide a NO CODE EXPERIENCE in Game Development.

The end result looks something like this. Its a No code editor made in React

Image description

Its purely a work in progress but Helicity is going 3D. You'll soon be able to create an FPS with a few blocks. It'll still take time but anyone can make it now.

Join this journey on twitter or x or whatever theyre calling it now!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
limitcracker profile image
Ioannis Gyftakis

Hi, do you also have a good guide on Google Blockly and how to make custom blocks with that?

Collapse
 
lilshake profile image
Abhishek

I dont have a guide but I learned it from their documentation... developers.google.com/blockly/guid...

It takes some time but is worth it