DEV Community

Cover image for What is the cheapest deploy option on Digital Ocean?
Henri Idrovo
Henri Idrovo

Posted on

What is the cheapest deploy option on Digital Ocean?

I'm still new to the web stack. One of the first cloud providers I deployed web apps to was Heroku, and that's because that's what the developer behind Bernie Sits used to deploy his viral website back in early 2021. Also it was FREE!

But since then, Heroku has unfortunately decided to stop offering a free tier, and that sucks.

Can't cry for too long. So where do I deploy to now? Enter Digital Ocean. So whats the cheapest option I have on Digital Ocean? See below for what I found. 512 MB ram, single core cpu, $5 per month.

screenshot of digital ocean control panel

That sounds pretty good right? Well yes, until I found what kind of server Github is giving to developers for their new Codespaces feature for free. 4GB ram, dual core, 32GB disk space. See below.

screenshot of github codespaces control panel

Hmmmmm. That really put things in perspective 🤔

Top comments (0)