DEV Community

Phan Hieu Nguyen
Phan Hieu Nguyen

Posted on

My first collaboration in OpenSource

Networking

I joined an Open Source community on Slack. I posted my projects and invite them to take a look. Some people responded and invite me on their projects to review. Everyone is nice here!

As Reviewer

There are always surprises when reading people's code because we think differently. It can be small things such as variable name, always refactor to functions. It can be big things such as projects structure, separating code in different files.

As Reviewee

The same things will happen when I read their reviews. Not everything is the surprise like my code doesn't work, because you know "Our code never works on first run /s". But mostly I got surprised because we have different view point and we prioritize different tasks/things.

Issues

The most problematic issue is if they forget to put something in ReadMe, it is almost impossible to know what the wrong step is and therefore where in the code cause that problem. The second biggest problem when reading others' code is if they don't comment on their code, it will take triple the amount of time to understand.

Example

Some of my submitted issues:
https://github.com/matt-ross16/CheckMyLinks/issues/8
https://github.com/jongwon-jang/detectURL/issues/1

Some of issued post in my repo:
https://github.com/HenryZerocool/henz-cli/issues

It's very hard or very long to discuss issues because they are different for everyone or every repo. So I think the summary above should be enough comments on Open Source collaboration

Top comments (0)