DEV Community

Himanshu Daga
Himanshu Daga

Posted on

Picticia

Steganography | Green Screen Composite | Greyscale


Here's link to the website & link to the code


What is Picticia?

Picticia is a web app which provides the following functionalities for images:

  1. Steganography- Use it to hide a secret message inside another image.
  2. Green screen composite- If you got your image with a green background and wanna replace that background with an exciting space landscape, try this feature.
  3. Grayscale- Oh this is nothing special, it just converts a colored image to black & white version.

Wondering why I chose this project to talk about on my graduation?

Well, I built this project in my 2nd year and after that I've built many other AI and ML-based projects which are much more technical but this one is special. It was built in a span of 4 days in between my 2nd year's semester exams and when I started this, I didn't know either JS or CSS. This vacation was followed by M3 (Mathematics-3) exam and I didn't like the subject at all. Mostly in such times, I'd spend my time until before the last night binge-watching, but this time was different. I don't know where I had banged my head, but I somehow decided to work on a tech project in a lousy attempt to justify my not studying for the coming exam ;p. At the moment, even I didn't realise that I- a 2nd year kid with no Web Dev background would learn and build this exciting project in the coming 4 days. It's completion gave me a real feeling of accomplishment!

P.S.- I didn't fail that exam though ;p

FYI- Here's what I used to build this?

It is built using vanilla HTML, JS, and CSS only!!

Top comments (0)