DEV Community

Cover image for How I Did A Emailing System!
Hugoonreplit
Hugoonreplit

Posted on • Updated on

How I Did A Emailing System!

About me!

Hey, Hugoonreplit here! Im a 14 year old Spanish computer science student which love web development and learning new things. I am a active Replit user which loves to create open source projects and them presenting them or publishing them. Feel free to DM me on Twitter or just by Dumpy my address is Hugo@dumpy.md . But enough talking about me and let's start this!

What is an Emailing System

This is the Google def for Emailing System :

A system that allows users to send and receive messages through a computer network

I've got another def which is very controversial and people may not identify an Emailing System with, but everyone has their own personal opinion. My def is :

A System where people can receive messages + led by a company which then sells all your data!

2 very similar different def.

Emailing Systems examples

· Dumpy
· Gmail
· Mail.com
· Zoho mail
· Outlook

4 of them famous, Dumpy still not :(

My Emailing System : Dumpy

Yes, as you might have spotted by the photo of the post my emailing system is called Dumpy, making a reference to a Dumpling. Look I love Dumplings + I was Hungry and was not willing to search for other food. Dumpy is made with Python and uses Markdown as an inbox, so what does this means? No more clicking buttons to style your emails or Dum's as it's called in Dumpy. Since Dumpy uses Markdown you can style your messages with Markdown! Markdown == Cool 😎. If you use Dumpy you are cool 😎, but if you use Gmail you are not cool 😡.

How to be a Dumpy master

· First you need to know all of this info :
· In Dumpy you are Dumming
· Dumpy Addresses are formed like this :

  • username + "@dumpy.md" · A user doesn't send Email's, he sends Dum's · Replit Employees are top Dumpy users · If you are a Dumpy user you should follow Hugoonreplit on Replit!

If you learn't all this you are officially a Dumpy master!

Python

Before reviewing the code you first have to learn about Python and Markdown because they are the programming languages that Im using to create Dumpy. This is what Wikipedia says about Python :

Python (1991) is a language of high level programming interpreted whose philosophy emphasizes the legibility of its code, which it uses to develop applications of all types, ejemplos: Instagram, Netflix, Spotify, Panda 3D, among others.​

And we also should learn about the creator :

Guido van Rossum is a computer scientist, known for being the author of the Python programming language. He was born and raised in the Netherlands. Wikipedia

Markdown

Before reviewing the code you first have to learn about Python and Markdown because they are the programming languages that Im using to create Dumpy. This is what Wikipedia says about Markdown :

Markdown is a lightweight marking language created by John Gruber and Aaron Swartz that tries to achieve maximum legibility and ease of publication both in its entry and exit forms, inspired by many existing conventions for marking electronic mail messages using plain text.

The code

Now we have come to the part everyone loves and was waiting for : The code. I only use 1 files for Dumpy and I do recommend that if you want to learn open a Python file and keep on track. I recommend Replit to do this so create a Python Repl. Or you can just check the files and pls like the and follow me if you liked it!

· https://replit.com/@Hugoonreplit/Dumpy?v=1

Imports

For Dumpy I used 2 imports which I consider very important and that in my opinion should always be added when doing a app on Python. The imports are import time and from datetime import datetime. These imports are very important for these reasons :

1) Organizes
2) Important in the inbox

Configuring the imports

Then I have to organize/define the import of datetime to do this we will type these 2 line :

now = datetime.now()
current_time = now.strftime("%H:%M:%S")

This lines will help us to know the time a message was sent. As you have may spotted the time I use for messages is Hours, Minutes and Seconds. I will be adding days, week, month and year in the 0.2 version.

Username

Then we have to have the correct data to create a Dumpy address. The user can choose whatever username they want so it is very fun, but this will maybe not be available in the 0.2 since repl identity might be presented, but I doubt I will add it because Dumpy is 100% public! But what do we do to get the username, well it is as simple as this : username = input("Dumpy Username:") we just type an input and at the start of it we put it a name so we can identify it!

Creating an address

In my opinion this was the trickiest but most enjoyable part of creating Dumpy. First we need to create a Markdown file with a username and the direction, f=open(username+"@dumpy.md","a+"). And then we have to define a Dumpy Markdown Address, dumpy_markdown_address = username + "@dumpy" ".md" and finally I will show the users what their address is, print("Your Dumpy markdown address is " + dumpy_markdown_address)

Design is important

Yes design is important, but bro what do you want me to do on Python a Figma freelancer payed project??? I had to do some boring things and organized, print()
print()
time.sleep(1)
.

Defining a Dum

As I mentioned earlier the word email doesn't exist in Dumpy, it's called Dum, not dumb, dum. This is easy and it's like the username part : dum = input("Address:").

Dumming a person

This was one of the most trickiest parts if not the most trickiest one. I had to send a message to a file, well just actually adding text! And this is what I did : f=open(dum,"a+")
data=str(input(current_time+ "|" +username+":"))
f.write("\n")
f.write(current_time+ "|" +username+":"+data)
f.write("\n")
print("Message Successfully Delivered")
f.close()
. Wow with only that amount of lines you can send a message. Not actually Dumpy was only made with 19 so it mind blowing 🤯!

Conclusion

If you've gotten to this part is because you are the best person in the world and you like Dumpy or just because you scrolled down to see the coding part. But let's get to the real conclusion. Dumpy is only 19 lines, when you apply to jobs they ask you for project, but it's not the size that matters it's the purpose and it's functionality!

Support me

Thanks for reading!

-- Hugoonreplit, Hugo Urías Lombraña.
-- Madrid, Spain.
-- Hugoonreplit@gmail.com

Top comments (0)