DEV Community

Cover image for week 4: I-N-T-E-N-S-E
NTWARI Hugues
NTWARI Hugues

Posted on

week 4: I-N-T-E-N-S-E

A full month into the bootcamp and things get more interesting with each passing day. We all had been looking forward to starting intense coding sessions and boy did we get that😅

I knew we were in for an intense week when Regis walked into our office on monday and said we are expected to have working APIs by friday,we all glanced at each other and had a quick laugh which could be interpreted as "yeah..that week we have been looking forward to is here, but it is on steroids". We got to work almost right away and started to work on folder structure but that's where the challenges started as none of us had worked with Nest js before but of course we had the internet and the guys at AL x CoA (s/o to Regis,Bert and Brian)to rely on. It was tough for the first 2-3 days but it gets a little bit easier as you work more and more with it but again learning on the fly is something you can not avoid as a software engineer, to be honest it works for me and I assume for other engineers as well as you learn so much in a short time. We managed to complete ~90% of the tasks and I couldn't be prouder of the boys.

We also had a stress management and resilience session on tuesday (wonder if it was just a coincidence that it was scheduled for this week 🤔hmm) and client communication in an agile world which answered most of the questions I had concerning the whole agile development methodology.

Very very fruitful week behind and I suspect week 5 will be even more fruitful and I can't wait.

Cheers

Top comments (0)