DEV Community

Hyper Woo
Hyper Woo

Posted on

Starting java for TCS: From the Basics to Beyond

As I embark on learning Java, I’ve realized that it’s an essential skill for landing a position at TCS, where they conduct a test requiring a score of 55+ out of 100. The test consists of 45 coding marks and the rest are multiple-choice questions (MCQs) without negative marking.

While I’m still a beginner in Java, I’m not entirely new to programming. My background in C++ and Python, both of which were part of my B.Tech curriculum, gives me a solid foundation as I dive into this new language. Initially, Java seems fairly approachable, like most things when you're starting out. However, I anticipate the real challenge will come as I go deeper into its concepts and applications.

So far, I’ve covered the basics and even created a simple snake game (think the retro Nokia 3310 version!). It was a fun project that touched on most of the fundamental topics in Java, giving me a good grasp of the language’s syntax and structure.

Although I have a decent understanding of JavaScript, I’ve come to realize that it’s quite different from Java. Despite the similarity in their names, these two languages serve entirely different purposes and have distinct approaches.

I'm excited to see how this journey unfolds and what new challenges Java brings in the near future. Stay tuned for more updates as I continue to explore this powerful language! 🚀

Top comments (0)