DEV Community

Harikrishnan Rajagopalan
Harikrishnan Rajagopalan

Posted on

My Coding Career Journal

I have completed the first year of my career in an IT company back in Jan 2022. What I learned in that year is, everybody is still learning, and that never ends. There is always something new to learn.

Being a constant listener of Cal Newport I was always attracted towards the idea of "So Go They Can't Ignore You".

So here's my career goal - I want to gain an advanced level of knowledge in just a single area. As Cal says in the book, "so good they can't ignore you".

I know it's a long journey and it takes years to gain advanced skills and knowledge in a particular area. It takes deliberate practice and discipline.

I have dabbled with web development during college but never went the distance with it. Also, I very much enjoyed creating websites. But I decided to learn it back from square one. I'm following The Odin Project curriculum as it's very much project-oriented.

Today I have completed the first submission on TOP. A basic HTML website.
Repo
Preview

Also started reading the Coding Career Handbook

I will continue to write this journal every day. Even if what I learn is a small thing, I will try to journal that here.

As Shawn says in his book- this is a marathon and not a sprint.

Top comments (0)