DEV Community

iamkilroy
iamkilroy

Posted on

Everyone Can Improve a Life

Alt Text
A bit of a #humblebrag but I'm very proud to share...

My youngest son recently concluded his first ever fundraising activity for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, that he organized and led with the support of several of his Twitch streaming and gaming friends. Together and with the help of their various communities, they drove $600.00 in donations to an organization that is battling a problem which has directly impacted our family and so many others.

My help in that idea and execution? None. I found out an hour before he started his first charity game stream that he had put this together. I donated. I wasn't even the top donor. He and his friends had 30+ donors over 3 weeks pitching in everything from a couple dollars to a lot more. It all helped. And many more spread the word or contributed their time.

I like to think that I've been an example for his sense of giving and helping where there is need. In my own case I was inspired by a 20 year career at Microsoft, their matching of employee volunteer hours with cash, and dollar for dollar donation matching. And behind their philanthropic giving culture and helping where help is needed - is Bill Gates.

Everyone can have an impact on someone's life or need or circumstance. It just takes the desire and the willingness to put in the work.

Well done kid. Now please step away from the screen and go outside and play for a while.

"If you can't feed a hundred people, then feed just one." -Mother Teresa

Top comments (0)